nusch

Music: Nicola Alesini, Aninas

Our life you made it a landslide has buried it
dawn of a city a beautiful morning in May
on which the earth has closed its fist again
dawn in me seventeen years ever brighter
and death enters me as if into a mill

Our life you said so happy to live
and to give life to what we loved
but death broke the balance of time
Death who comes death who goes death lived
Death visible eats and drinks at my cost

Death visible Nusch invisible and harder
than hunger and thirst to my exhausted body
mask of snow on the earth and under the earth
fountain of tears in the night blind man’s mask
my past dissolves I give way to silence

Paul Éluard

Leave a Reply

