Sleep… Oh! how I loathe those little slices of death.

Sleep is the most moronic fraternity in the world, with the heaviest dues and the crudest rituals.  ~ Vladimir Nabokov

Sleep, that deplorable curtailment of the joy of life.  ~ Virginia Woolf

The worst thing in the world is to try to sleep and not to.  ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

In its early stages, insomnia is almost an oasis in which those who have to think or suffer darkly take refuge.  ~ Colette

How do people go to sleep?  I’m afraid I’ve lost the knack.  I might try busting myself smartly over the temple with the night-light.  I might repeat to myself, slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound; if I can remember any of the damn things.  ~ Dorothy Parker

For sleep, one needs endless depths of blackness to sink into; daylight is too shallow, it will not cover one.  ~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh

 

 

Leave a Reply

