return to absence

I had forgotten who I was (excusably) and spoken of myself as I would have of another, if I had been compelled to speak of another. Yes it sometimes happens that I forget who I am and strut before my eyes, like a stranger. Then I see the sky different from what it is and the earth takes on false colours. It looks like rest, it is not, I vanish happy in that alien light, which must have once been mine, I am willing to believe it, then the anguish of return, I won’t say where, I can’t, to absence perhaps, you must return, that’s all I know, it’s misery to stay, misery to go.

Samuel Beckett, Molloy

Leave a Reply

